Our network

PCSSD New Student Registration Begins August 5 | Schools

Title (Max 100 Characters)

PCSSD New Student Registration Begins August 5
PCSSD New Student Registration Begins August 5

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- Parents of students living within the Pulaski County Special School District (PCSSD) who have not already registered their pre-kindergarten, kindergarten, new and returning students for the 2013-2014 school year may register them Aug. 5 to Aug. 9, 2013.

Dr. Janice Warren, interim assistant superintendent for the Office of Equity and Pupil Services for the school district, said where a student registers depends on grade level and type of registration.

“Kindergarten and elementary students register or check in at the school they will attend, and secondary students must register or check in at regional hub locations (see below for addresses).

Parents interested in pre-kindergarten programs must call Homer Atkins Pre-Kindergarten at 501-982-3117.

Warren said PCSSD has approximately 18,000 students in 37 schools throughout Little Rock, West Little Rock, Maumelle, Sherwood and Jacksonville that offer an array of programs and opportunities.

“One of our biggest strengths is schools dedicated to talented and gifted learning,” Warren said. “Added to that are numerous national board certified teachers, award-winning fine arts programs, a diverse choice of team sports and afterschool activities.”

To register a student, Warren said parents or guardians need to present proper identification, which includes a birth certificate or a registrar statement, baptismal certificate, passport, affidavit, military identification, previous school records, immunization records, transcript or last report card or social security card.  Address verification also is necessary, which requires a current utility bill, a Little Rock Air Force Base housing verification form, home purchase closing papers or lease agreements.

For more information about PCSSD schools, please call the Office of Equity and Pupil Services at 501-234-2020 or 501-234-2021. The district office is located at 925 East Dixon Road in Little Rock.

Hub locations:

Northwood Middle School, North Pulaski High School, Jacksonville and Sylvan Hills middle and high schools register at Sylvan Hills Middle School, 10001 Johnson Street, Sherwood; Robinson and Maumelle middle and high schools register at Maumelle High School, 100 Victory Lane, Maumelle; and Fuller Middle School and Mills University High School students register at the District office.